You are here

Regional Success Stories on Climate Change Education Advancement

Regional Success Stories on Climate Change Education Advancement

In August 2015, USAID LEAF held a workshop that brought together professors from 14 universities from six countries as well as trainers and experts from other USAID programs. The goal of the workshop was to share success stories and lessons learned in applying USAID LEAF’s Regional Climate Change Curriculum Development and how to advance climate change education in universities and schools as well as for NGO practitioners and governmental officers. The workshop enabled professors to document achievements in adapting USAID LEAF’s Regional Climate Change Curriculum Development for the past three years; to share success stories in using the curriculum; to identify key lessons learned; and to identify key messages or recommendations in advancing climate change education at the national level and the Asia Pacific region.

Over 70 participants from Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia and Papua New Guinea participated in the workshop, including professors and leaders of 14 universities and higher education institutions; training specialists and experts from USAID-funded programs; partners from regional programs, projects and platforms; civil society and NGO representatives; and other donors working in similar areas as USAID LEAF. 

Following are materials from the workshop:

Agenda: http://www.leafasia.org/library/curriculum-workshop-agenda

Concept Notehttp://www.leafasia.org/library/curriculum-workshop-concept-note

Final Report:http://www.leafasia.org/library/curriculum-workshop-final-report

Presentations

Low Emission Land Use Planning

Low Emission Land Use Planning Role Play Overview: http://www.leafasia.org/library/low-emission-land-use-planning-role-play-overview

Low Emission Land Use Planning Role Play Negotiating Options: http://www.leafasia.org/library/low-emission-land-use-planning-role-play-negotiating-options

Thailand Success Stories

Kasetsart University Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/videos/kasetsart-university-curriculum-success-stories

Chiang Mai University Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/chiang-mai-university-success-stories

University of Phayao Climate Change Course: http://www.leafasia.org/library/university-phayao-climate-change-course

University of Phayao Dry Dipterocarp: http://www.leafasia.org/library/university-phayao-dry-dipterocarp

Introduction to new ThaiFlux Site: http://www.leafasia.org/library/introduction-new-thaiflux-site

Energy Fluxes in Dry Dipterocarp Forest: http://www.leafasia.org/library/energy-fluxes-dry-dipterocarp-forest

Vietnam Success Stories: Da Lat University

Da Lat University Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/videos/da-lat-university-curriculum-success-stories

Da Lat University Introduction: http://www.leafasia.org/library/da-lat-university-introduction

Da Lat University Posters: http://www.leafasia.org/library/da-lat-university-posters

Vietnam Success Stories: Vietnam Forestry University

VFU Advanced Curriculum Program: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vfu-advanced-curriculum-program

VFU Global Change Ecology: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vfu-global-change-ecology

CMM module for teaching: http://www.leafasia.org/library/cmm-module-teaching

Success Story - Kieu Thi Duong: http://www.leafasia.org/library/success-story-kieu-thi-duong

Utilization of RECCCD - Tran Thi Thu Ha: http://www.leafasia.org/library/utilization-recccd

Success Story - Hai Hoa Nguyen: http://www.leafasia.org/library/success-story-hai-hoa-nguyen

VFU Success Stories Overview: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vfu-success-stories-overview

VFU Success Stories Summary: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vfu-success-stories-summary

Lam Dong Success Stories

Lam Dong Scenario Development: http://www.leafasia.org/library/lam-dong-scenario-development

Lam Dong PRAP Scenarios: http://www.leafasia.org/library/lam-dong-prap-scenarios

Vietnam Success Stories: Vinh University, Nghe An Province

Vinh University Introduction: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vinh-university-introduction

Vinh University Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vinh-university-success-stories

Malaysia Success Stories: Universiti Putra Malaysia

Malaysia Country Report: http://www.leafasia.org/library/malaysia-country-report

UPM Carbon Sequestration Course: http://www.leafasia.org/library/upm-carbon-sequestration-course

UPM Faculty of Forestry: http://www.leafasia.org/library/upm-faculty-forestry

UPM International Forestry: http://www.leafasia.org/library/upm-international-forestry

Malaysia Success Stories: Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

UKM Poster: http://www.leafasia.org/library/ukm-poster

UKM Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/ukm-success-stories

Cambodia Success Stories: Royal University of Agriculture

RUA Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/rua-success-stories

RUA and RUPP Joint Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/rua-and-rupp-joint-success-stories

Cambodia Success Stories: Royal University of Phnom Penh

RUPP Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/rupp-success-stories

RUPP Introduction: http://www.leafasia.org/videos/royal-university-phnom-penh-introduction

Laos Success Stories

National University of Laos Success Stories: http://www.leafasia.org/library/national-university-laos-success-stories

Papua New Guinea Success Stories

University of Papua New Guinea Success Story: http://www.leafasia.org/library/university-papua-new-guinea-success-story

UPNG Social and Environmental Soundness Course: http://www.leafasia.org/library/upng-climate-change-curriculum-course

Field Trip to Bang Krachao

Bang Krachao Briefing: http://www.leafasia.org/library/bang-krachao-briefing

Bang Krachao Factsheet: http://www.leafasia.org/library/bang-krachao-factsheet

Vietnam Forests and Deltas (USAID VFD)

 Vietnam Forests and Deltas Presentation: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vietnam-forests-and-deltas-presentation

Asia LEDS Partnership

Asia LEDS Presentation: http://www.leafasia.org/library/asia-leds-presentation

SilvaCarbon

SilvaCarbon Presentation: http://www.leafasia.org/library/silvacarbon-presentation

Ways Forward and Wrap Up

RUA Cambodia Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/rua-cambodia-way-forward

RUPP Cambodia Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/rupp-cambodia-way-forward

NUL Laos Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/nul-laos-way-forward

UPM UKM Malaysia Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/upm-ukm-malaysia-way-forward

UPNG Unitech Papua New Guinea Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/upng-unitech-papua-new-guinea-way-forward

CMU Thailand Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/cmu-thailand-way-forward

KU Thailand Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/ku-thailand-way-forward

Phayao Thailand Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/phayao-thailand-way-forward

VFU DLU Vinh Vietnam Way Forward: http://www.leafasia.org/library/vfu-dlu-vinh-vietnam-way-forward

Wrapup and Happy Moments: http://www.leafasia.org/library/wrapup-and-happy-moments

 

Click here to access all of USAID LEAF's curriculum modules.

Start Date: 
Monday, 10 August, 2015 (All day)
End Date: 
Friday, 14 August, 2015 (All day)
Location: 
Bangkok, Thailand